The island of Fuerteventura is part of the Canary islands, one of Spain’s 17 autonomous communities. Therefore, the requirements to enter Fuerteventura are the same as the requirements to visit the rest of Spain. The requirements to enter Fuerteventura are set by the Spanish government, and are managed by the Spanish Foreign Affairs Ministry.

In this section, we are talking exclusively about the documentation required to visit the island as a tourist. For other purposes, please consult the official website of the Spanish Foreign Affairs Ministry.

Based on the visitor’s nationality, the documentation required to enter the island is as follows:

🇪🇺European Union

The Canary Islands are part of the European Union and the Schengen Area. Citizens of EU Member States or the Schengen Area only need a national ID document or valid passport to enter. Visas and other special documents are not required.

Countries which do NOT require a visa

For stays of less than three months for tourism purposes, nationals of the following countries only require a valid passport:

Albania, Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Colombia, South Korea, Costa Rica, Dominica, El Salvador, United Arab Emirates, United States of America, Georgia, Granada, Guatemala, Honduras, Israel, Japan, Kiribati, Macedonia, Malaysia Marshall, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Nicaragua, New Zealand, Palau, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, United Kingdom, Solomon, Samoa Islands, Saint Kitts and Nevis, San Marino, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, St. Lucia, Holy See (Vatican City State), Serbia, Seychelles, Singapore, East Timor, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tuvalu, Ukraine, Uruguay, Vanuatu, Venezuela

For stays of longer than three months, or stays for reasons other than tourism, visitors from countries that are outside the EU and the Schengen Area should request the same visa that is required to enter Spain.

Countries which DO require a visa

Afghanistan, Angola, Saudi Arabia, Algeria, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Bahrain, Belize, Benin, Belarus, Burma / Myanmar, Bolivia, Botswana, Burkina faso, Burundi, Bhutan, Cape Verde, Cambodia, Cameroon, Central African, Republic, Chad, China, Comoros, Congo, Congo, Democratic Republic Of, North Korea, Ivory Coast, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, Eritrea, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Philippines, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Equatorial Guinea, Guyana, Haiti, India, Indonesia, Iraq, Iran, Jamaica, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kyrgyzstan, Kuwait, Laos, Lesotho, Lebanon, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Maldives, Mali, Morocco, Mauritania, Mongolia, Mozambique, Namibia, Nepal, Niger, Nigeria, Oman, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Qatar, Rwanda, Russia, Sao Tome And Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Syria, Somalia, Sri Lanka, South Africa, Sudan, South Sudan, Surinam, Thailand, Tanzania, Tajikistan, Togo, Tunisia, Turkmenistan, Turkey, Uganda, Uzbekistan, Vietnam, Yemen, Djibouti, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Additional information

If your country doesn’t appear on this list, or if you would like further information, please consult the official website of the Spanish Foreign Affairs Ministry.


You can check the health documentation necessary to enter Spain on the official website of the spanish Ministry of Health.